An online publication for the staff, faculty, students and friends of Community College of Philadelphia
Volume 18, Number 1
October 21, 2009

College News

U.S. Department of Education Hearing Held at the College


The U.S. Department of Education (DOE) held the third in a series of nationwide rulemaking hearings at the College’s Center for Business and Industry June 22-23. The event drew a standing-room-only crowd of representatives from public and private colleges and universities. The DOE administrators taking testimony were, from left: Dan Madzelan and Carney McCullough from the Office of Postsecondary Education; Steven Finley, Office of the General Counsel; and Glenn Cummings, Office of Vocational and Adult Education. Photo by Earni Young.

divider graphic

City Council Honors Two Community College Grads

Graduates Mary Anderson and Audra Jeffers, (center), are congratulated by Philadelphia City Councilman and College Trustee James F. Kenney (left) and Councilwoman Donna Reed Miller (right). Photo compliments of City Council.

City Council honored Community College of Philadelphia graduates Mary Anderson and Audra Jeffers at its final session before summer recess. The citations were introduced by Councilman James F. Kenney, a member of the College’s Board of Trustees. Anderson and Jeffers, members of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, were recognized for their academic achievements. Both were selected as All-Pennsylvania Scholars, an honor that includes a full scholarship to a state-supported college or university. The two women also won national honors in a scholarship competition sponsored by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation and administered by Phi Theta Kappa.

divider graphic

Dr. Lorraine H. Brown Scholarship in Memory of the Floyd Family Recognizes Excellence

The Dr. Lorraine H. Brown Scholarship in Memory of the Floyd Family has been established by Dr. Lorraine H. Brown, a member of the College Foundation Board of Directors and chairman/CEO of The Temple Group. The scholarship awards 10 students pursuing their associate's degrees at the College a tuition scholarship, with a maximum award of $2,000. Successful applicants will have completed more than 24 credits and have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 2.5.

Following candidate interviews on Aug. 10, the students selected to receive the Dr. Lorraine H. Brown Scholarship in Memory of the Floyd Family for the 2009/2010 academic year included Katrina Brooks, Donna Brown, Ervan Dickens, Toye Greene, Kyle Grier, Gentris Jointe, Carl LaGuerre, Shamonique Montague, Assetou Simpara and Michael Wickliffe.

divider graphic

James R. Smith Memorial Book Award Helps Students Purchase Textbooks

Next to tuition and fees, the cost of textbooks is the greatest educational expense incurred by students. The average college textbook costs from $25 to $100 and a semester’s worth of books can cost several hundred dollars.

The James R. Smith Memorial Book Award was established by Michael S. Smith, a College Foundation board member and branch vice president for CNA Insurance. Criteria for the award include a minimum grade point average of 3.0 for a student returning to the College for the fall semester. Three students received James R. Smith Memorial Book awards. They include students Douglas Edwards, Claressa Pridgen and Tarik Ryant.

divider graphic

The Annual Fund Supports What the College Needs Today

Each school year is unique with new students, new faculty and staff, and changes on campus. But every year, the College faces many of the same challenges: a majority of students need scholarship assistance to stay in school, technologies must be purchased for classrooms, the Emergency Book Fund needs funding for students in crisis and much more.

The Annual Fund supports the College when and where funds are needed most—today, every day, every year. When you support the 2010 Annual Fund, the College is better prepared to serve students and create pathways for their success.

The 2010 Annual Fund kicks off in November. We need your help. Visit to support this year’s campaign and make the path to education possible for today’s students.

divider graphic