An online publication for the staff, faculty, students and friends of Community College of Philadelphia
Volume 17, Number 5
July 28, 2009

Regional Centers Bestow 2009 Leadership Awards

The Regional Center Awards Breakfasts, launched 10 years ago, have become a wonderful tradition where the College honors people in the community who possess ideals of dedication, cooperation, friendship and collaboration. The 2009 award winners are 18 individuals who commit their talent, time and effort to projects and activities that make a real and measurable difference in the lives of residents.

The awards recognize community, political, student, education, faith and business luminaries selected by the advisory boards at the College’s three Regional Centers. In kicking off the first of the three awards breakfasts at the Northeast Regional Center on May 5, President Curtis said the work of the College “builds on and depends on the efforts” of such community leaders.

“Since the College opened its doors in 1965, we have enrolled more than 596,000 students, an impressive number. But you contribute to their knowledge in a way that is perhaps even more tangible through example,” he said. “By working together, we can help enhance and improve Philadelphia as it strives toward educating its citizens and expanding local economies.”

NERC award winners groupphoto

Northeast Regional Center award winners standing from left are State Rep. John Sabatina Jr., of the 174th Legislative District; Dianne Welsh-Retzbach, executive vice president, Friends of Poquessing Watershed of Philadelphia and Bucks County; and Dr. Anthony Chunn, president and CEO of CORA Services. Seated from left are Northeast High School senior Shelly Lam; Dorothy Mullen, sales manager, Ramada Inn Northeast Philadelphia; and Sister Mildred Chesnavage, principal and director of Religious Education, Our Lady of Calvary Parish School.

NWRC award winners group photo
Northwest Regional Center Leadership award winners standing from left are Kevin Lamb, accepting on behalf of State Rep. Jewell Williams of the 197th Legislative District; Ken Weinstein, real estate developer and founder/owner, Trolley Car Diner, Deli & Ice Cream Shoppe; and Walter Marlin, chair, Advisory Council for the Charles Finley Recreation Center. Seated from left are Edison High School Senior Yezenia Gonzalez; Donna Frisby-Greenwood, director of College and Career Awareness for the School District of Philadelphia; and Rabbi George Stern, executive director, Neighborhood Interfaith Movement.

WRC award winners group photos
West Philadelphia Regional Center Leadership award winners standing from left are Bartram High School senior Theodore Christopher Muse; State Rep. Vanessa Lowery Brown of the 190th Legislative District; and Mark Edwards, executive director, Local Initiatives Support Corporation, Philadelphia. Seated from left are Kathy Sykes, director, Mental Retardation Services; Victoria Yancey, special representative, Office of Community Relations and Faith-Based Initiatives, School District of Philadelphia; and Dorothy “Pat” Simmons, executive director, Children’s Service Inc.