An online publication for the staff, faculty, students and friends of Community College of Philadelphia
Volume 17, Number 5
July 28, 2009

Honors Tea Celebrates Excellence

Honors Tea Celebration group photo

The College held its 10th Annual Honors Tea on May 6 to celebrate excellence within the College family. The event is highlighted by an exhibit in the Mint Building Rotunda showcasing the creativity of our College family. The event also provides the College with an opportunity to recognize faculty who have been promoted, staff who participated in the College’s Leadership Institute, winners of the Presidential Awards and the winner of the League for Innovation’s Community College Innovation of the Year Award.

This year’s awardees included the following:

Promoted from Assistant Professor to Associate Professor – Amy Anu Birge, English; Richard Frei, Behavioral Sciences; Julie Odell, English; Mariá Luisa Ortega Hernández, Foreign Languages; Jeffrey Reed, Art; Michael Remshard, Counseling; Daravann Yi, Counseling; and Simone Zelitch, English

Promoted from Associate Professor to Full Professor – Linda Powell, Biology and Kathleen Smith, Social Sciences/Paralegal Studies

Alana Collos Award Recipients – David Miller, visiting lecturer, Behavioral Science and Carol Stein, assistant professor, English

Teaching Center Certificate Recipients – Eileen Abrams, English; Fay Beauchamp, English; Luba Borochok, English; Juliet Bradley, Behavioral Sciences; Diane Freedman, Anthropology; David Freeman, Justice; Clark Loveridge, Math; Francine Lukacik, Dietetics; Rosemary McAndrews, English; Julie Odell, English; Joanne Patti, Office of Administration; Elizabeth Pearson, English; Charise Shane, English; Judy Sussholtz, English; Jalyn Warren, Library; Pete Watkins, Behavioral Science; Faith Watson, English; and Aerie Webb, English

Leadership Institute Participants (2008–09) – Kathryn Birster, Vanessa Brown, Jacqueline Butler, Charis Felton, Henrietta Hadley, Sarah Iepson, Maryann Lyons, Gina MacKenzie and Girija Nagaswami

Presidential Awards for Distinguished Service – Eve Markman, Administrator and Theresa Payne, Classified/Confidential

Presidential Award for Commitment to Diversity – Arlene Caney, Music

League for Innovation in the Community College 2009 Innovation of the Year Award – Linda Hansell and Willette Whitaker of Advanced Tech at College