Hometown Heroes:
Community College of Philadelphia Recognizes 18 Community and Business Leaders

PHILADELPHIA, April 25, 2013—Community College of Philadelphia’s three Regional Centers will present awards to 18 Philadelphia leaders at a series of neighborhood breakfasts to be held at 8 a.m. on April 30, May 1 and May 2.

All of the honorees are individuals who have demonstrated achievement and outstanding commitment to the College and their community.

The Northeast Regional Center will hold its award ceremony at 8 a.m., Tuesday, April 30, at 12901 Townsend Rd.

The Northwest Regional Center will hold its award ceremony at 8 a.m., Wednesday, May 1, at 1300 W. Godfrey Ave.

The West Regional Center will hold its ceremony at 8 a.m., Thursday, May 2, at 4725 Chestnut St.

A list of this year’s awardees for each of the Regional Centers follows:

Northeast Regional Center

Business - Nancy Morozin, Owner/Operator, The Dining Car, a landmark diner and bakery
Education - John F. Swoyer, III, Chief Executive Officer, MaST Community Charter School
Public Official - The Honorable Ed Neilson, State Representative, 169th District
Faith-Based - The Rev. James A. Callahan, Pastor, Christ the King Parish
Community Service - Jack McCarthy, Founding Director, Northeast Philadelphia Hall of Fame
Youth - Maura Lavelle, Senior, Nazareth Academy High School

Northwest Regional Center

Business - Deborah Gary, President, DHEx Enterprises, LLC, a technology, education and service company
Education - Laura Keane, Director of College Initiatives, Mastery Charter Schools
Public Official - The Honorable Stephen Kinsey, State Representative, 201st District
Faith-Based - The Rev. Efren Veridiano Esmilla, Pastor, Our Lady of Hope Parish
Community Service - Cathy Santos, Founder, National Alliance of Women Veterans, Inc.
Youth - Samuella Takyi, Senior, Philadelphia High School for Girls

West Regional Center

Business - Jeffrey Brown, Founder, President and CEO, Brown’s Super Stores, operator of 10 ShopRite supermarkets in the Delaware Valley
Education - Ethelyn Payne Young, Principal, Overbrook High School
Public Official - The Honorable Jordan Harris, State Representative, 186th District
Faith-Based - The Rev. Essie Boatwright, Family Praise and Worship Center Ministries
Community Service - Louis Massiah, Founder/Director, Scribe Video Center
Youth - Alexis Jackson, Senior, Paul Robeson High School for Human Services