Community College of Philadelphia Women's Cross Country Track Team Wins Conference and State Titles

PHILADELPHIA, Oct. 29, 2010 —Community College of Philadelphia’s women’s cross country team repeated their double championship victories for the fifth straight year, capturing the 2010 Eastern Pennsylvania Collegiate Conference (EPCC) championship on Oct. 16 and the 2010 Pennsylvania Collegiate Athletic Association (PCAA) championship on Oct. 23.

The Lady Colonials were undefeated in league competition for the season, as they were in 2009 and 2008. Members of the winning team are Shadeen Robinson, Saunsiree Harvey, Latasha Thompson, Terricia Pope and Yasmin Wooten. Harvey, Wooten and Robinson received All-Conference honors.

Coaches Rogers Glispy, Ephener Green, El’Phant Eure and Robert Taylor were awarded Coach of the Year honors for the sixth consecutive year.

The men’s team—EPCC and PCAA champions in 2009—finished second in all league races for 2010. Defending champion Edmond Hawi won the PCAA bronze medal. Freshmen Kemar Montieth and Dominique Gattis finished fifth and ninth overall, respectively. All-Conference honors went to Hawi and Montieth.

Note: A photo of the women’s cross country team is available upon request.